Networking Overview

Click here to watch a full attendee tour of the event.

The Networking area is a place for automated one-on-one meetings and a way of facilitating connection discovery at an event. Similar to an experience that feels like FaceTime or Hangouts, Hopin pairs two people over a direct video call.

In Networking, when someone clicks the “Ready” button, the system searches for someone else who has also clicked the “Ready” button. If someone else is available, the two are matched instantly and the video chat begins and lasts for a preset amount of time. The amount of time for individual meetings is set by the organizer. Attendees see a timer countdown on the top side of the screen. When the time expires, the meeting ends.

In a Networking meeting, the blue “Connect” button shows up at the bottom of the screen. The purpose of this button is to give you the ability to quickly and easily exchange contact information, similar to exchanging business cards at a physical event.

If both people click Connect, a connection registers. When a connection registers, both people will see the others’ contact info in their event summary at the end of the event.

Attendees will not know if the other person clicked Connect until the end of the event.

 

The purpose is to allow users to unawkwardly avoid giving out their contact information if they do not wish to. 

Important Networking rules to know

  •  Once you meet someone in the Networking area at an event, you will not be matched with that person in the Networking area again at that event. You will never meet the same person twice in the Networking area. 

  • Networking meetings are not recorded or recordable.

  • Users can turn off their camera in the Networking area.  

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle

Toronto Entrepreneurs Conference & Tradeshow

 info@TorontoEntrepreneurs.ca